John Carpenter Releasing ‘Lost Themes’ In February 2015

John Carpenter gave us all a treat on Halloween day when he shared this link to a free stream of his new track “Vortex” from the prolific composer’s upcoming new album, Lost Themes, which will be released on February 3, 2015.

You can view the cover art above (click to enlarge) and then listen to a stream of “Vortex,” read what Carpenter has to say about Lost Themes, and see the track list below!

In a statement, the legendary director explains his debut solo album: Lost Themes was all about having fun. It can be both great and bad to score over images, which is what I’m used to. Here there were no pressures. No actors asking me what they’re supposed to do. No crew waiting. No cutting room to go to. No release pending. It’s just fun. And I couldn’t have a better set-up at my house, where I depended on (collaborators) Cody (Carpenter, of the band Ludrium) and Daniel (Davies, who scored I, Frankenstein) to bring me ideas as we began improvising. The plan was to make my music more complete and fuller, because we had unlimited tracks. I wasn’t dealing with just analogue anymore. It’s a brand new world. And there was nothing in any of our heads when we started other than to make it moody.”

1. Vortex
2. Obsidian
3. Fallen
4. Domain
5. Mystery
6. Abyss
7. Wraith
8. Purgatory
9. Night

You can pre-order John Carpenter’s Lost Themes here!


Matt Artz

Founded Halloween Daily News in 2012 and the Halloween International Film Festival in 2016. Professional writer/journalist/photographer since 2000.