2021 Fangoria Chainsaw Award Winners Recap

The 2021 Fangoria Chainsaw Awards, was televised globally for the first time on Shudder yesterday (4/18/21), and we have your complete list of all the winners.

The ceremony, which recognizes outstanding achievement in horror film and television, was hosted by actor and writer David Dastmalchian (Ant-Man and the Wasp), who also debuted his new alter ego, the horror host Dr. Fearless.

The virtual ceremony’s presenters included Jamie Lee Curtis (Halloween), Keith David (The Thing), Gigi Saul Guerrero (director, Culture Shock), Issa Lopez (director, Tigers Are Not Afraid), Kevin Smith (Clerks), Tananarive Due (Horror Noire: A History of Black Horror), Blumhouse founder and CEO Jason Blum, James Jude Courtney (Halloween), Doug Jones (The Shape of Water), and drag artist and The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula season two winner Biqtch Puddin’. There was also a surreal music video by Smiling Beth shown.

This year’s nominated films include The Invisible ManFreakyThe Dark and the WickedHost, and Possessor as well as actors Vince Vaughn, Kathryn Newton, Clancy Brown, and Elisabeth Moss, and man others.

The Invisible Man cleaned up, winning Best Wide Release, as well as Best Director for Leigh Whannell, Best Screenplay for Whannell, Best Lead Performance for Elisabeth Moss, and Best Kill for the restaurant scene.

Curtis presented her award (for Best Lead Performance) standing in her shower, explaining, “I spend a lot of time in the shower. I think about my mother. I wish she were here, and if it wasn’t for a shower, she would be,” she said, referencing her mom, Janet Leigh’s iconic shower scene in Psycho.

Read on for the 2021 Chainsaw Award Winners.

BEST WIDE RELEASE MOVIE (presented by Gigi Saul Guerrero)

Gretel & Hansel
The Hunt
WINNER: The Invisible Man (Read our review here.)

BEST LIMITED RELEASE MOVIE (presented by Corin Hardy)

WINNER: Color Out of Space
The Dark and the Wicked
The Wolf of Snow Hollow

BEST FIRST FEATURE (presented by Travis Stevens)

WINNER: Come to Daddy (Read our review here.)
Dead Dicks
Extra Ordinary
Sea Fever

BEST STREAMING PREMIERE MOVIE (presented by Andrea Subissati)

Anything For Jackson
The Beach House
(Read our review here.)
The Mortuary Collection

BEST INTERNATIONAL MOVIE (presented by Issa Lopez)

Blood Quantum
(Read our review here.)
WINNER: La Llorona

BEST SERIES (presented by Gory Cory)

The Haunting of Bly Manor
Lovecraft Country
(Read our review here.)
WINNER: What We Do in the Shadows

BEST LEAD PERFORMANCE (presented by Jamie Lee Curtis)

Jim Cummings – The Wolf of Snow Hollow
Sopé Dìrísù – His House
Jeremy Gardner – After Midnight
Heston Horwin – Dead Dicks
Marin Ireland – The Dark and the Wicked
Carla Juri – Amulet
Tamara Lawrance – Kindred
Emily Mortimer – Relic
Wunmi Mosaku – His House
WINNER: Elisabeth Moss – The Invisible Man
Andrea Riseborough – Possessor
Alec Secareanu – Amulet
Vince Vaughn – Freaky

BEST SUPPORTING PERFORMANCE (presented by Keith David)

Xander Berkeley – The Dark and the Wicked
WINNER: Clancy Brown – The Mortuary Collection
Will Forte – Extra Ordinary
Brea Grant – After Midnight
Udo Kier – Bacurau
Alice Krige – Gretel & Hansel
Stephen McHattie – Come to Daddy
Robyn Nevin – Relic
Julie Oliver-Touchstone – The Dark and the Wicked
Misha Osherovich – Freaky
Vanessa Williams – Bad Hair

BEST DIRECTOR (presented by Kevin Smith)

Bryan Bertino – The Dark and the Wicked
Justin G. Dyck – Anything for Jackson
Romola Garai – Amulet
Natalie Erika James – Relic
Remi Weekes – His House
WINNER: Leigh Whannell – The Invisible Man

BEST SCREENPLAY (presented by Tananarive Due)

Kleber Mendonça Filho & Juliano Dornelles – Bacurau
Toby Harvard – Come to Daddy
Michael Kennedy & Christopher Landon – Freaky
Remi Weekes – His House
WINNER: Leigh Whannell – The Invisible Man

BEST SCORE (presented by Emmanuel Osei-Kuffour, Jr.)

Roque Baños – His House
Rob – Gretel & Hansel
Tom Schraeder – The Dark and the Wicked
WINNER: Jim Williams – Possessor
Christopher Young & Lustmord – The Empty Man

BEST MAKEUP FX (presented by Biqtch Puddin’)

Alterian Studios – Freaky
Amalgamated Dynamics – The Mortuary Collection
Liz Byrne – Gretel & Hansel
Paul Jones – Random Acts of Violence
WINNER: Dan Martin – Possessor

BEST CREATURE FX (presented by Doug Jones)

Jim Henson Studio – Come Play
David Martí & Montse Ribé, – His House
WINNER: Dan Martin – Color Out of Space
Erik Porn – The Wretched
Cliff Wallace – Amulet

BEST KILL (presented by James Jude Courtney)

Anything for Jackson – Head in the Chipper
Bacurau – Bacamarte Head Explosion
The Beach House – Randall’s Infection
Come to Daddy – Jethro’s Metal Pick Death
Freaky – Mr. Bernardi Sawed in Half
Host – Caroline’s Death by Keyboard
WINNER: The Invisible Man – Restaurant Scene
The Mortuary Collection – Exploding Penis Birth
Possessor – John Parse’s Death
Relic – Edna’s Transformation 

ACHIEVEMENT IN NON-FICTION (presented by Phil Nobile, Jr. and Rebekah McKendry)

Blood & Flesh: The Reel Life and Ghastly Death of Al Adamson
The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula: Resurrection
Cursed Films
WINNER: The Last Drive-in With Joe Bob Briggs
Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on The Exorcist
Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street

For more Halloween news, follow @HalloweenDaily.

Matt Artz

Founded Halloween Daily News in 2012 and the Halloween International Film Festival in 2016. Professional writer/journalist/photographer since 2000.