Duran Duran Announce New Halloween-Themed Album ‘Danse Macabre’

Iconic pop rock band Duran Duran are giving us an entire album of new music inspired by Halloween this October, and the title track of Danse Macabre just dropped today. Read on for the official press release and to listen to “Danse Macabre”.

Duran Duran have announced their 16th studio album: Danse Macabre, in time for this year’s Halloween, available to pre-order now.

Catalyzed by one special live performance that Duran Duran filmed in Las Vegas on October 31st of last year, Danse Macabre is the soundtrack to their ultimate Halloween party. Across 13 tracks, the band unearth bright melodies from the darkness, threading together new songs, themed covers, and newly reimagined versions of their own “spooky” classics.

Title track “Danse Macabre” is released today as the first of three brand new songs. Anxious percussion sets the tempo against a distorted, growling synthesizer as Simon Le Bon’s swaggering verses give way to a handclap-laden and hypnotic hook. Teaming with producer Mr Hudson, channeling the chemistry they unlocked together on the Paper Gods album, the song also features former band-mate Warren Cuccurullo on guitar in his first collaboration with the band since 2001.

Speaking about Danse Macabre, keyboardist Nick Rhodes said: “The song ‘Danse Macabre’ celebrates the joy and madness of Halloween. It is the title track of our forthcoming album, which gathers together an unusual mix of cover versions, reworked Duran Duran songs, and several new compositions. The idea was born out of a show we played in Las Vegas on October 31st, 2022. We had decided to seize the moment to create a unique, special event…the temptation of using glorious gothic visuals set to a dark soundtrack of horror and humor was simply irresistible.

That evening inspired us to explore further and to make an album, using Halloween as the key theme. The record metamorphosed through a pure, organic process, and not only was it made faster than anything since our debut album, it has also resulted in something none of us could have ever predicted. Emotion, mood, style, and attitude have always been at the heart of Duran Duran’s DNA, we search for light in the darkness and darkness in the light, and I feel we have somehow managed to capture the essence of all of that in this project.

Simon Le Bon elaborates: It’s about a crazy Halloween party. It’s supposed to be fun!

John Taylor said: “After all these years, Danse Macabre offers an interesting insight into the personality of the band. The music packs a real punch.”

Roger Taylor adds: “I hope you take a journey with us through the darker side of our inspirations into where we’re at in 2023. Maybe, you’ll leave with a deeper understanding of how Duran Duran got to this moment in time.”

Fans can also look forward to Duran Duran’s Halloween covers of Billie Eilish’s “Bury A Friend”, Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer” (feat. Victoria De Angelis of Måneskin), The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black”, the Rick James-inspired “Super Lonely Freak”, Siouxsie and the Banshees’ “Spellbound”, Cerrone’s “Supernature”, and The Specials’ “Ghost Town”.

As well as Warren Cuccurullo, the album includes more special collaborations with former Duran Duran band member Andy Taylor, producer, guitarist and composer Nile Rodgers, Victoria De Angelis of Måneskin, and producers Josh Blair and Mr Hudson.

Andy Taylor originally joined Duran Duran in 1980, co-writing and playing guitar on their first three studio albums: Duran Duran (1981), Rio (1982), and Seven and the Ragged Tiger (1983), before leaving the group to pursue a solo career., the returned 16 years late for 2004’s Astronaut (2004), before parting company once again with the other four original members in 2006. With Andy’s departure, Warren Cuccurullo joined the band full time in 1989, contributing both song writing and guitars to the albums Big Thing (1988), Liberty (1990), The Wedding Album (1993), Thank You (1995), Medazzaland (1997), and Pop Trash (2000).

Fast forward to 2023 and Andy Taylor and Warren Cuccurullo’s presence on Danse Macabre captures the true spirit of the album – a celebration of the raw energy and sense of fun that comes when friends make music together in a room.

Danse Macabre is not just an album for Halloween. Elsewhere, “Black Moonlight” sees the band’s timeless song writing break into dance-rock glamor with the addition of Nile Rodgers and Andy Taylor on guitar, where epic coda “Confession In The Afterlife” finds Duran Duran reunited with producer Mr Hudson anew.

As well as a second collaboration with Warren Cuccurullo on “Love Voudou”, Danse Macabre will feature newly recorded versions of “Nightboat” and fan favorite “Secret Oktober 31st” (both featuring Andy Taylor on guitar). The song made its first appearance as a b-side to the 7” single “Union of The Snake” and is now, 40 years later, seeing its first ever physical release on a Duran Duran studio album.

The origin of Danse Macabre begins in Las Vegas, October 31st, 2022. Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Nick Rhodes and Roger Taylor donned full fancy dress, cast a horde of ghouls on a stage complete with 20 foot high skeletons, tombstones, cobwebs and coffins. The set included a parade of rarities and special covers also debuted in what has gone down in Duran Duran history as a Halloween show for the ages. The band and their audience had so much fun that they decided to put the set to tape, creating a worldwide Halloween event for all Duran Duran fans to enjoy.

Danse Macabre will be released on October 27, via Tape Modern for BMG, with artwork featuring images adapted from a collection of authentic vintage séance photos sourced by Nick Rhodes at auction.  It will be available on Black 2LP and CD, with a limited-edition Translucent Galaxy 2LP. The album will also be available on high res Blu-ray audio. You can pre-order the vinyl via Amazon here or the CD here.

Check out the track listing and cover art, and listen to the first single, “Danse Macabre”, below!

01. Nightboat
02. Black Moonlight
03. Love Voudou
04. Bury A Friend
05. Supernature
06. Danse Macabre
07. Secret Oktober 31st
08. Ghost Town
09. Paint It Black
10. Super Lonely Freak
11. Spellbound
12. Psycho Killer (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
12. Confession in the Afterlife

*Paid links: We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through affiliate links in this article, which helps to support the continued operation of Halloween Daily News. 

For more Halloween news, follow @HalloweenDaily.

Matt Artz

Founded Halloween Daily News in 2012 and the Halloween International Film Festival in 2016. Professional writer/journalist/photographer since 2000.

Duran Duran Announce New Halloween-Themed Album ‘Danse Macabre’