Hear New John Carpenter ‘Escape From New York’ Track from ‘Anthology II’

John Carpenter just dropped another track from his upcoming Anthology II, a new album featuring many of Carpenter’s classic movie themes rerecorded with his current bandmates, son Cody Carpenter and godson Daniel Davies, and the release is from the 1981 classic Escape From New York.

You can listen to “69th St. Bridge” from Escape From New York and watch the official visualizer video below.

From the official press release: By now everyone should know, John Carpenter is not only a celebrated filmmaker but also a musical maestro whose soundtracks have become synonymous with the genres of horror, suspense, and science fiction.

Anthology II (Movie Themes 1976-1988) continues the celebration of his compositional genius via an excellently sequenced collection of some of his most iconic pieces of music from his extensive filmography, all newly recorded with his musical collaborators Daniel Davies and Cody Carpenter.

The compilation includes selections from Escape From New York, Big Trouble in Little China, The Thing, They Live, Assault on Precinct 13, Prince of Darkness, The Fog, Halloween (and its sequels), and beyond. Among its highlights are the three lost cues from The Thing, previously unreleased and now re-recorded. The Thing marks one of the rare occasions that John Carpenter stepped away from scoring duties and entrusted the task to another composer, the legendary Ennio Morricone. Upon receiving Morricone’s score Carpenter felt that the film would benefit from the inclusion of additional music and took the initiative to record and insert multiple synth driven cues.

Anthology II (Movie Themes 1976-1988) represents just a fraction of John Carpenter’s impressive musical repertoire. His ability to capture the essence of his films through evocative melodies, atmospheric soundscapes, and innovative use of synths has solidified his status as one of the most influential composers in the history of cinema. With each haunting note and pulsating beat, his soundtracks continue to resonate with audiences, forever etching his name in the annals of film music history.

Anthology II track listing:
1. Chariots of Pumpkins (Halloween III)
2. 69th St. Bridge (Escape from New York)
3. The Alley (War) (Big Trouble in Little China)
4. Wake Up (They Live)
5. Julie’s Dead (Assault on Precinct 13)
6. The Shape Enters Laurie’s Room (Halloween II)
7. Season of the Witch (Halloween III)
8. Love at a Distance (Prince of Darkness)
9. The Shape Stalks Again (Halloween II)
10. Burn it (The Thing)
11. Fuchs (The Thing)
12. To Mac’s Shack (The Thing)
13. Walk to the Lighthouse (The Fog)
14. Laurie’s Theme (Halloween)

John Carpenter’s Anthology II: Movie Themes 1976-1988 will be released on October 6, from Sacred Bones Records

With numerous variant options available, you can pre-order the album now here.

Carpenter also confirmed during a recent Q&A panel that he and his son Cody Carpenter and godson Daniel Davies are currently working on new music for an upcoming Lost Themes IV album.

You can watch the brand new official visualizer video for the album’s second track, “69th St. Bridge” from Escape From New York below.

*Paid links: We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through affiliate links in this article, which helps to support the continued operation of Halloween Daily News. 

For more Halloween news, follow @HalloweenDaily.

Matt Artz

Founded Halloween Daily News in 2012 and the Halloween International Film Festival in 2016. Professional writer/journalist/photographer since 2000.

Hear New John Carpenter ‘Escape From New York’ Track from ‘Anthology II’